The Release of FEAR MOUNTAIN . . . For Such A Time As This

Fear_Mountain_eBook_Cover Eight years ago I wrote a story that I just fell in love with. It was one of those stories that felt like it wrote itself, like I was merely a conduit for the main character to tell his story. I wrote it in first person (something I hadn’t done before and haven’t done since). And it’s a period story, taking place in post-WWII Maine (again, something I hadn’t done before and haven’t done since).

But my publisher at the time balked and rejected the story. I was heart-broken, I really was. I loved the story, the characters, the concept. Over the past years I’ve toyed with the idea of independently publishing the story or submitting it to a smaller publisher or even totally re-writing it and trying again with a larger publisher. But the timing never seemed right and I hated to change the story too much.

FearMountain_MikeDellosso_Cover_Final_HRSo I let it sit on my hard drive and collect dust. An orphan.

Until now.

Two months ago my wife and I decided to adopt a teen girl from a former Soviet nation. We had hosted her for the summer and immediately saw the great need. She needed a family. She needed a mom and dad. We felt God was leading us to be her mom and dad and welcome her into our forever family.

The adoption journey is a long one and can be quite rigorous. And, no surprise, it’s expensive. That’s where the journey of my orphaned book and our orphaned daughter-to-be intersect.

I had an idea. What if I gave my book a home with 100% of the proceeds earned on its sale going towards the adoption expenses, making a way for us to give this precious girl a home too? What if . . . ?

And so here we are. Fear Mountain is now available through Amazon. It’s available only in ebook format for now but will be available in paperback hopefully around mid-November. 100% of the proceeds earned will go toward our adoption expenses.

The book will be available in four different covers, one releasing every week for four weeks. I had four different professional graphic artists volunteer to design a cover and I couldn’t say no. A big thanks to Ross Boone, Cory Clubb, Tim Serdynski, and Paul Stier for their generosity with this.

Fear-Mountain-ebook_BoonePlease help us spread the word about this book and fund our adoption by sharing either this post, the Amazon link, or one of the many posts you’ll find on Facebook. Any and all sharing helps!

Here’s a quick synopsis of Fear Mountain, found on Amazon.

Billy Harding is a momma’s boy. He’s a disappointment to his dad and his brothers. So when Billy reluctantly agrees to go on a hunting trip he has no expectation to prove anything. But when his grandfather, father, and older brother are taken captive by an enemy more sinister than any Billy could imagine, he finds himself as their only hope. Can Billy conquer his own fears and doubts and find the courage to become the man his family needs?

Set in post-WWII western Maine, Fear Mountain will take you on a journey of discovery and thrills that will keep you both intrigued and far from the woods.


2 thoughts on “The Release of FEAR MOUNTAIN . . . For Such A Time As This

Leave a comment